Date: Saturday, December 1, 2007
Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Charlie W. Johnson Football Stadium
2046 Two Notch Road, Columbia, South Carolina 29204


Credential Request Form
Vendor Registration Form


[Columbia, SC] The 10th Annual Pioneer Bowl will be hosted by Benedict College in Columbia, SC at the new Charlie W. Johnson Football Stadium. The game will be played on December 1, 2007 at 2:00 p.m. The "Pioneer Bowl" is a contest between the top teams of the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) and the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (CIAA). The "Bowl's" first contest was in 1997 between the Kentucky State University Thorobreds and the Livingstone College Blue Bears. Since the inception of the game, Tuskegee University has represented the SIAC nine times. The SIAC leads the series with 7 wins and 2 losses.

The SIAC is composed of twelve different institutions in five states (Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, South Carolina and Tennessee): Albany State University, Benedict College, Clark Atlanta University, Fort Valley State University, Kentucky State University, Lane College, LeMoyne-Owen College, Miles College, Morehouse College, Paine College, Stillman College and Tuskegee University. The SIAC also has a provisional member, Claflin University.
The SIAC is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and participates at the Division II level. On an annual basis, the SIAC sponsors six men's championships (baseball, basketball, cross country, football, outdoor track & field and tennis) and six women's championships (basketball, cross country, outdoor track & field, softball, tennis and volleyball).
The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) is an athletic conference consisting of ten historically African-American institutions of higher education: Bowie State University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, Johnson C. Smith University, Livingstone College, St. Augustine's College, St. Paul's College, Shaw University, Virginia State University and Virginia Union University, all working together to set an overall standard of excellence.

For more information regarding the 10th Annual Pioneer Bowl, contact
Harry Stinson at (770) 908-0482 or via email at

Source: BC Sports Information and SIAC