In 2013, Jon Curran has won three times on the NGA TOUR this season, amassed nearly $100,000 in winnings and picked up a top-25 finish on the PGA TOUR. For most players, that would be enough to suffice - but Curran has one more event marked on his calendar: the Woodcreek Classic.

"I love that course and I'm pumped about going there," said Curran. "I'm playing great this season. I'd like to end the year with another win or two."

If Curran can add another victory in 2013, the former Vanderbilt standout is a virtual lock to earn Player of the Year Honors. And if he wins at Woodcreek, he may see his ascension to the higher levels of golf accelerated.

Over the past five years, several players that contended for wins in the annual NGA TOUR event at The Members Club at Woodcreek and WildeWood have gone on to earn victories on the PGA TOUR and Tour.

After competing in the 2010 Woodcreek Classic, Ted Potter Jr. played his way onto the Tour, where he racked up two wins and a PGA TOUR card in 2011. Potter picked up his first PGA TOUR win in the Greenbrier Classic.

Scott Stallings, a 2008 NGA TOUR member, posted a top-5 finish in the Capitol Chevrolet & Hyundai Classic at Woodcreek and has earned two PGA TOUR victories since competing in Elgin, S.C.

Michael Thompson, who finished second at Woodcreek in 2010, went on to win NGA Tour Player of the Year and picked up his first PGA TOUR win in 2013. Lee Williams, who finished T13 in 2011, is now a PGA TOUR member.

Last year, Jonathan Randolph, a former Ole Miss All-American from Brandon, Miss., shot an 8-under 64 in the final round of the Woodcreek Classic sponsored by Cigna, finished with a 25-under 263 total and won his second NGA TOUR event in a row.

Randolph, who earned a top-25 finish on the PGA TOUR this season, is expected to return this year, but he'll have to play well to defend his title, considering the top-flight field expected for the event.

In addition to Curran, Justin Lower, Matt Hendrix and Trent Whitekiller, who are second, fourth and fifth on the money list, respectively, will be looking to end their seasons on a high note.

Lower, Malone University alumnus from Augusta, Ga., will be trying to join Curran as a three-time winner on the NGA TOUR this season and move to the top of the Player of the Year standings.

Hendrix, a Clemson alumnus from Greenville, enters the Woodcreek Classic in pursuit of his second victory of the season. The former Tiger grabbed his first victory in the Cutter Creek Classic and has four top-five finishes this season.

Despite not picking up a win, Whitekiller, a former Oklahoma State standout from Sallisaw, Okla., has had one of the most consistent seasons by any player on the top-rated developmental tour. The Cowboy alumnus has seven top-10 finishes and three top-five finishes in 12 starts in 2013.

In addition to the aforementioned players, 2013 NGA TOUR winners Clayton Rask, Daniel McCarthy, M.J. Daffue and Ken Looper and 2011 Woodcreek Classic champion Adam Long have filed entries for the Woodcreek Classic as well.

The event will also feature a spattering of South Carolina golfers. Roberto Diaz (Myrtle Beach), Wesley Bryan (Chapin), Scott Feaster (Columbia), Adam Hart (Blythewood), Luke Hart (Blythewood) and Yoshio Yamamoto (Myrtle Beach) are scheduled to tee it up in the 2013 Woodcreek Classic.

The first round of the Woodcreek Classic will begin on Thursday, Aug. 29 at 7:30 a.m. As always, admission is free to the public.

The NGA Pro Golf Tour is the No. 3 Men's Professional Golf Tour in the United States after the PGA and Tours and is the No. 1 recommended developmental tour by more PGA and Tour Professionals.

The NGA has helped hundreds of professionals acquire their PGA TOUR, Euro,, and Champions Tour cards. In fact, NGA alumni have won an incredible Fifteen (15) "Major" Championships.

NGA alumni include: 2012 Masters champion Bubba Watson; 2011 PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley; 2010 PGA TOUR Player of the Year and 2003 US Open Champion Jim Furyk; 2009 British Open Champion Stewart Cink; 2009 U.S. Open Champion Lucas Glover; 2007 Masters Champion Zach Johnson; 2003 PGA Champion Shaun Micheel; 2003 British Open Champion Ben Curtis; two-time U.S. Open Champion Lee Janzen; British Open and PGA Champion John Daly; British Open Champion Tom Lehman; PGA Champion David Toms; 2003 Tour Championship Winner Chad Campbell; 2010 NGA Player of the Year Michael Thompson; 2012 PGA TOUR winners Mark Wilson, George McNeill, Ted Potter Jr., Scott Stallings and Scott Piercy.

At this year's PGA Tour Qualifying School, 52% of those earning full exempt status on the PGA TOUR and 67% of those earning full exempt status on the Tour were past NGA Professionals. Another 16 NGA Professionals advanced to the PGA TOUR for 2012 by finishing inside the Top 25 on the Tour money list, including 2011 NGA members Ted Potter Jr., Russell Knox and Billy Hurley III.

The NGA Pro Golf Tour, established in 1988, predates the Tour as the longest running developmental tour in golf. In 2012, the NGA TOUR became the "Official Partner of the 2012 Reno-Tahoe Open" and secured one PGA TOUR and six Tour event exemptions for its members, the most in developmental golf.

For more information on the NGA or the NGA Pro Golf Tour, please visit or contact the Tour Office at (800) 992-8748.

Press release contributed by Paul Warner, NGA Tour media relations.